Board of Directors

2017 Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Association Board of Directors

NSLHA President

Marc Brennan
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
301 Barkley Memorial Center
Lincoln, NE 68583
Marc.brennan@unl.edu

NSLHA President-Elect
Vacant

Secretary/Treasurer
Staci Stoehr
Handprints/Footsteps
5930 Vandervoort Drive #A
Lincoln, NE 68516
(402) 420-2099
sstoehr@hpnfs.com

NSLHA Past President
Shari DeVeney
Assistant Professor
Special Education and Communication Disorders
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Roskens Hall 512E
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182
(402) 554-2993
sdeveney@unomaha.edu

Vice President
Natalie Lenzen
Boys Town National Research Hospital
555 N. 30th Street
Omaha, NE 68131
(402) 498-6368
nataliemlenzen@gmail.com

Vice President-Elect
Judy Harvey
University of Nebraska at Lincoln
One Barkley Memorial Center
PO Box 830738
Lincoln, NE 68583
(402) 472-2071
harvey.judy@gmail.com

Newsletter Editor
Whitney Schneider-Cline
University of Nebraska at Kearney
905 W. 25th St.
COE B136
Kearney, NE 68849
(308) 865-8612
schneiderwm@unk.edu


ASHA Advisory Council
Jan Moore
University of Nebraska at Kearney
2002 W 35th St.
P.O. Box 830738
Kearney, NE 68845
(308) 865-8301
mooreja2@unk.edu

Steve Kinkead
RehabVisions
11623 Arbor St.
Omaha, NE 68144
(402) 334-6017
skinkead@rehabvisions.com

Region Representatives

Region I Representative
Julianne Svingen
Speech Therapy Services
16566 Valley Cir.
Omaha, NE 68130
(402) 871-6091
svingenj@gmail.com

Region II Representative
Mitzi Ritzman
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Roskens Hall 512N
Lincoln, NE 68182
(402) 554-2203
mritzman@unomaha.edu

Region III Representative
Michell Ruskamp

Columbus Wellness Center
3912 38th Street, Suite A
Columbus, NE 68601
(402) 562-4488
mlruskamp@columbushosp.org

Region IV Representative
Jessica Thoene

Alpha Rehabilitation
920 East 56th St.
Kearney, NE 68847
(308) 440-6999
jessica@alpharehab.com

Region V Representative
Molly Walz
ESU #16
1221 W. 17th Street
North Platte, NE 69101
(308) 530-9792
mwalz@esusixteen.org

Region VI Representative
Martha Douglas

Box Butte General Hospital
2101 Box Butte Ave
PO Box 810
Alliance, NE 69301
(308) 761-3372
mdouglas@bbgh.org

University of Nebraska at Omaha Speech-Language Pathology (UNO NSSLHA) Student Representative
Emalee Napier
Omaha, NE 68106
(402) 984-4319
enapier@unomaha.edu

University of Nebraska at Lincoln Speech-Language Pathology (UNL NSSLHA) Student Representative
Megan Poppert
Geneva, NE 68361
(402) 366-3307
poppert.megan@gmail.com

University of Nebraska at Lincoln (Student Academy of Audiology) Audiology Student Representative
Nicole Swanson
Lincoln, NE 68503
(402) 472-7211
nicole.swanson@huskers.unl.edu

University of Nebraska at Kearney (KSSLHA) Student Representative
Amanda Evert
Kearney, NE 68845
(402) 380-5583
evertaa@lopers.unk.edu

News & Announcements

  • You're Invited to Oct. 21st Education Summit

    Any professionals interested in practices in academic excellence for all children who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing are invited to attend. Registration opens at 7:30 a.m. at the UNO Milo Bail Student Center at 6203 University Dr. S., in Omaha. Mail your registration with name, address, email and special accommodations by Oct. 6th to Attn: Jenny Corum, 1313 Farnam 3rd Floor, Omaha, NE 68102.

  • The Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Association has experienced several recent legislative and regulatory advocacy accomplishments, and wanted to share with you the ongoing work being done for members in our state. Listen to this recording for more information.

  • This webinar will include an overview of the current Nebraska Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) proposed plan, along with the role of SLPs in schools. Current national topics will be discussed including: telepractice, SLPAs, universal licensure, dyslexia and caseload vs. workload. Next steps in collaborating with the Nebraska Department of Education on these issues and current eligibility criteria for speech and/or language impairment will also be discussed.

  • Colleagues, we are hoping that you will agree to take a very short survey regarding augmentative and alternative communication and therapy in aphasia. The aim of the survey is to find out more about how speech-language pathologists describe and use AAC in aphasia therapy. We have purposely not included our own definition of AAC because we want to hear your ideas first. If you are willing to help with the survey, please click on the link above or paste the link into your browser to go to the web-based survey. After completing the survey, you may choose to enter a drawing to win a $25 gift card.

  • Join your peers at the Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s Fall Convention on September 14-15, 2017 at the Cornhusker Marriott in Lincoln, NE to learn, collaborate, share, network and socialize. Up to 1.35 ASHA CEUs are available.