Board of Directors

2017 Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Association Board of Directors

NSLHA President

Marc Brennan
Boys Town National Research Hospital
555 N. 30th St.
Omaha, NE 68131
(402) 498-6553
marc.brennan@boystown.org

NSLHA President-Elect
Vacant

Secretary/Treasurer
Staci Stoehr
Handprints/Footsteps
5930 Vandervoort Drive #A
Lincoln, NE 68516
(402) 420-2099
sstoehr@hpnfs.com

NSLHA Past President
Shari DeVeney
Assistant Professor
Special Education and Communication Disorders
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Roskens Hall 512E
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182
(402) 554-2993
sdeveney@unomaha.edu

Vice President
Natalie Lenzen
Boys Town National Research Hospital
555 N. 30th Street
Omaha, NE 68131
(402) 498-6368
nataliemlenzen@gmail.com

Vice President-Elect
Judy Harvey
University of Nebraska at Lincoln
One Barkley Memorial Center
PO Box 830738
Lincoln, NE 68583
(402) 472-2071
harvey.judy@gmail.com

Newsletter Editor
Whitney Schneider-Cline
University of Nebraska at Kearney
905 W. 25th St.
COE B136
Kearney, NE 68849
(308) 865-8612
schneiderwm@unk.edu


ASHA Advisory Council
Jan Moore
University of Nebraska at Kearney
2002 W 35th St.
P.O. Box 830738
Kearney, NE 68845
(308) 865-8301
mooreja2@unk.edu

Steve Kinkead
RehabVisions
11623 Arbor St.
Omaha, NE 68144
(402) 334-6017
skinkead@rehabvisions.com

Region Representatives

Region I Representative
Julianne Svingen
Speech Therapy Services
16566 Valley Cir.
Omaha, NE 68130
(402) 871-6091
svingenj@gmail.com

Region II Representative
Mitzi Ritzman
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Roskens Hall 512N
Lincoln, NE 68182
(402) 554-2203
mritzman@unomaha.edu

Region III Representative
Michell Ruskamp

Columbus Wellness Center
3912 38th Street, Suite A
Columbus, NE 68601
(402) 562-4488
mlruskamp@columbushosp.org

Region IV Representative
Jessica Thoene

Alpha Rehabilitation
920 East 56th St.
Kearney, NE 68847
(308) 440-6999
jessica@alpharehab.com

Region V Representative
Molly Walz
ESU #16
1221 W. 17th Street
North Platte, NE 69101
(308) 530-9792
mwalz@esusixteen.org

Region VI Representative
Martha Douglas

Box Butte General Hospital
2101 Box Butte Ave
PO Box 810
Alliance, NE 69301
(308) 761-3372
mdouglas@bbgh.org

University of Nebraska at Omaha Speech-Language Pathology (UNO NSSLHA) Student Representative
Emalee Napier
Omaha, NE 68106
(402) 984-4319
enapier@unomaha.edu

University of Nebraska at Lincoln Speech-Language Pathology (UNL NSSLHA) Student Representative
Megan Poppert
Geneva, NE 68361
(402) 366-3307
poppert.megan@gmail.com

University of Nebraska at Lincoln (Student Academy of Audiology) Audiology Student Representative
Nicole Swanson
Lincoln, NE 68503
(402) 472-7211
nicole.swanson@huskers.unl.edu

University of Nebraska at Kearney (KSSLHA) Student Representative
Amanda Evert
Kearney, NE 68845
(402) 380-5583
evertaa@lopers.unk.edu

News & Announcements

  • The Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Endowment Fund (NSHLEF) is offering two $1,000 scholarships. Apply by June 30th.

  • Participate in Fluency Enhancing Tactile Speech for Those Who Stutter Study

    The Wheat Lab at The University of Mississippi is researching the use of a smartphone app that provides fluency enhancing tactile speech for those who stutter. During this clinical trial, we are providing a free app for either iOS or Android, such that we can measure the effects of pulsating tactile vibrations on stuttering frequency. This is an open clinical trial, and we can accept English speaking participants from all over the country; During these weekly sessions over video conference, participants will be asked to share with us their experiences with the app, as well as provide some speech samples. Contact tactile@speechandhearingcenter.org to participate.

  • looking for currently practicing speech‐language pathologists who routinely assess cognitive skills to complete this 15-20 minute online survey. Results from this study will help researchers understand current cognitive assessment practices, define strengths and weaknesses of available assessments, and determine next steps for future assessment creation.

  • Participants will work collaboratively to develop appropriate and functional AAC intervention goals for clients with aphasia, based on their classifications with the AAC-Aphasia Framework.

  • We invite you to become a member of the Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSLHA). Help strengthen our speech-language pathology and audiology profession by participating in professional development opportunities, and by advocating for the rights and interests of persons with communication disorders.

  • Continue to receive membership services, participate in professional development opportunities, and receive advocacy support. NSLHA is a strong voice working on behalf of its members to advocate for speech, language, and hearing services.